Inklingo Mug Rug Swap

I’m hosting a 2014 Inklingo Mug Rug Swap with members of the Inklingo Yahoo Group. The sign-up deadline is January 22. A swap like this is a great place to start with using Inklingo because we can use the FREE Diamond/ Triangle/ Square collection.

We’re aiming for our Mug Rugs to be around 4.5×9 inches to 6×12 inches. The easiest way to get within our target sizes is to just make two blocks that are either 4.5 inches or 6 inches. Many, many Inklingo collections, including the FREE Diamond/ Triangle/ Square colleciton fit the size range; Linda has many beautiful block suggestions that she shares in the FREE collection. Or make two of one of the 6 inch blocks that Linda showcases on her website, page 1 here, page 2 here. Or make two totally different blocks that are the same size and just stitch them together.

In our last swap, I decided I wanted to use either the Inklingo Apple Core Collection or the Drunkard’s Path Collection. At that time I hadn’t made anything with either shape. Since I couldn’t make up my mind which I wanted to use, I decided to make a reversible Mug Rug. Here’s one side:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere’s the other:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I did have fun embellishing the binding… And, those 2 inch Drunkard’s Path blocks are SOOOO cute! The Mug Rug finished at 6 x 10 inches.

The beautiful Mug Rug I received from my partner is here. I’ve never used it as a Mug Rug, it’s still a decorative piece that I absolutely love. I loved the print Fiona used from Amy Butler’s Daisy Chain collection. (One of my projects later this year is a reproduction Jane Austen patchwork using Amy Butler fabrics that I’ve been collecting, including the one that Fiona used. I’m looking forward to the challenge of the small diamond borders–did you know those diamonds are all mirror imaged? I believe I’ve figured out a way to keep them all straight that doesn’t involve gazillions of feet of design wall space.)

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Apple Core, Drunkard's Path, Inklingo, Mug Rug Swap. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

