Bonnie Hunter’s Celtic Solstice Mystery and Inklingo, Clue 5

It’s getting very exciting knowing that we must be near the home stretch to the reveal of our Celtic Solstice Mystery. Waiting patiently Bonnie!

I didn’t get my Clue 4 four patches finished until Sunday due to the remnants of a ‘flu’ bug that hit us hard. I still have lots of fatigue and brain fog.

Bonnie’s Clue 5 has us making 100 Split Triangle or Birds in the Air blocks. I’m glad our HSTs were already completed! Linda’s Inklingo Clue 5 instructions has us making two blocks at a time. It’s an interesting technique because I’m not sewing any triangles, just rectangles!

Here are my shapes printed, cut and ready to sew:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA(Again, apologies for a camera that distorts flat images, these are cut straight!)

I carefully followed Linda’s wonderful one-page guide for this Clue: first sew a rectangle of two neutral HSTs to one the completed Sawtooth unit, (grade seams, optional), press toward the neutral, turn one unit:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALayer with right sides facing, sew the longer seam:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe next step seems more confusing to follow in words than to actually do: clip in the seam allowance between the two yellow triangles so the block will lay flat (Linda’s instruction shows the detail), press as shown, sew the diagonal dashed lines:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACut apart on the solid diagonal line:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATrim dog ears, press toward the blue HST:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd I, thankfully, have two perfect 3-1/2 inch unfinished blocks. I love hand piecing and do a lot of it, so it’s a real thrill for me to be able to get all these perfect blocks by machine. I’ve only made these test blocks, I’ll complete the others this week.

Stay tuned for the tutorial on how to machine piece a Star of the Milky Way block that is made from the shapes in Bonnie’s Inklingo Celtic Solstice collection. The flu got in the way, but I’m expecting to be able to finish it before Friday.

Click below for this week’s link-up on Bonnie’s blog; there’s lots of eye candy:00 Paddy125

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Celtic Solstice, Inklingo, Triangles. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bonnie Hunter’s Celtic Solstice Mystery and Inklingo, Clue 5

  1. Anita says:

    It is interesting to see how it is done with Inklingo!

  2. Cathie D says:

    HI Jillian I did my blocks with Inklingo and they all were just that easy and I loved making 2 at a time and no tiny triangles to fuss with! Hope you are feeling better soon

Leave a Reply

