Bonnie Hunter’s Celtic Solstice Mystery and Inklingo, Clue 4

120 four patches is this week’s Celtic Solstice Mystery Clue 4. Here’s my orange (caramel) printed with 20 patches. I only printed the 12 pieces of caramel fabric, layered it on top of 12 pieces of green, then sewed four straight lines:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAReminder, my camera distorts these kind of flat images, it is square!

I sewed them all, then cut the rows apart, on the longer seam. Press toward the green. Grade the darker seam (optional). Here I did a couple steps a little differently than Linda Franz suggested in her Inklingo Celtic Solstice Mystery Clue 4.

At the cutting mat, take two of the pressed rows, turn one opposite the other, layer right sides facing:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANest the seams:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cut each four patch, yielding 5 four patches:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sew the seams, unpick a stitch or two at the center seam, twirl center seam, do a final press:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATa da, 5 perfect four patches at a time! I could have chain pieced all of them, but I found I really liked working with 5 at a time. That’s probably because I haven’t had a big chunk of time to stitch, so this way felt like good progress.

As of today, Monday Dec. 24, I am not yet complete with this Clue…

Click the picture below to continue your tour of Bonnie Hunter’s Celtic Solstice Mystery participants:00 Paddy125For those of you that have the Inklingo Celtic Solstic shape collection, I’m preparing a tutorial on how to machine piece a BEAUTIFUL star block that can be made with this shape collection–the Star of the Milky Way. Click here to see the star that hand piecer extraordinaire Cathi at Quilt Obesssion made; this was my inspiration. The tutorial should be completed this week.

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.