Connections–Dedicated to YOU

The Alliance for American Quilts contest this year had the theme ‘Home is Where the Quilt Is.’ The entries had to be a specific house shape–basically 15 inches wide by 19.5 inches tall.

I entered the contest with this design that I drafted for Inklingo shapes a couple of years ago:

June 2012

I used 1 inch shapes, it’s hand pieced and machine quilted. The ‘rings’ are trapuntoed. More on my design and its construction in my next post.

I named the quilt Connections. This is my artist’s statement about the quilt:

‘One of the things I love about quilting in this age of the internet is the connectedness of the worldwide quilt community–from my home to yours! The interlocking rings that intersect at the earth illustrate these connections.

This pattern is part of a demiregular tesselation in geometry.

This quilt is dedicated to you, my inspiring online quilting friends, and all you have taught me.’

My heartfelt thanks to all of you!

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in hexagons, Inklingo, One Inch, Squares, Triangles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Connections–Dedicated to YOU

  1. Annika says:

    Dear Jillian, I love your quilt and your interpretation of the theme. I hope it will do very well in the contest! I feel a very warm connection to my online quilting friends, and it makes me happy to see that this is universally recognized.
    Thank YOU for sharing your inspiration, ideas and support with me.

    Love and Hugs, Annika

Leave a Reply

