Inklingo Thru New Eyes–As Quilting Stencils

I’m not yet confident enough of my hand or free motion quilting skills to use them on a quilt. I use a walking foot, kinda Mary Mashuta style. I prefer not to have to mark a whole quilt, but primarily do it free hand, or use masking tape or freezer paper (stitching next to the tape/shape), or wash away stabilizer (motif marked on it) as the stencil.

I’m always on the lookout for gently curved motifs or motifs in which I can pivot easily with the walking foot. These can be layered for some really nice results.

It recently dawned on me that there are MANY Inklingo shapes that I can use as quilting shapes to stitch around! I can use shapes with or without the seam allowance–it will all depend on the quilt or block design.

In the pictures below use your imagination to see quilting lines next to the Inklingo shape, perhaps some echoing of the shape, etc. I wouldn’t necessarily use all of these together, but I could! The possibilities are very exciting to me. The name of the Inklingo collection that the shape can be found in is noted. To give you an idea of scale, the four matching blocks are 16 inches square:

The clam shells and apple cores are from one of the hundreds and hundreds of worksheets that Linda has provided in the collections and wonderful design books. They could be used for an all-over quilt design.

Below are 6 inch blocks from a table runner of 3 inch Inklingo HSTs that is in process:

I could go on and on (and on), but you can discover other ideas for yourself!

I’ve always thought Inklingo collections and design books were a steal. Quilt pattern books don’t have more than 10-12 quilts in them; Linda offers dozens of patterns in the design books alone. Now we have another way to use the shapes, increasing their value even more!

I’d love to hear about or see your Inklingo quilting motif design ideas.

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Inklingo, Quilting Motifs, Triangles. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Inklingo Thru New Eyes–As Quilting Stencils

  1. Anneke says:

    Hi Jillian,
    …and I love the way *your* brain works! This is very clever.
    Mmmm…It would be even better if someone invented an inkjet printer that can take in an entire quilt top, so that we can print lines on it, and quilt on the printed lines 🙂

  2. Pingback: Quilt stenciles | Charitygifter

  3. Sandy says:

    In response to the note you left on Selvage Blog about Fenton’s. I didn’t see an email for you, probably just missed it. Anyway …..

    I know Fenton Factory is closed because I live less than 12 miles from Williamstown, WV. Fenton Glass Factory “is” closed as of July 2011. Only the gift shop is open. But once all the stock is sold that will be it. Hang on to your Fenton because someday it will really be worth something.

    Closing read here
    http://www.thedaonline.com/news/fenton-glass-company-to-close-production-1.2526991

  4. mamaphilo says:

    hi jill. Your idea is so brilliant, I must try this one..thank you

  5. Fiona Palmer says:

    Oh my gosh, this is a FANTASTIC idea! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

