Inklingo-ing a Heart Block Pattern

There is a very nice free heart block designed by Janet Wickell here at About.com. The block finishes at 6 inches. I made these according to Janet’s instructions (cut squares for the HSTs, draw diagonal lines, stitch on the lines, trim, etc.):

I prefer to print Inklingo shapes. Each block needs two different size HSTs:  four 1.5 inches,  and two 3 inches. (Remember with Inklingo shapes we reference the finished size.) I’ll just rotary cut the two 3.5×6.5 inch  rectangles.

Both of these HSTs are available in Inklingo Collection HST00B. The 1.5 inch HST is also in two Storm at Sea collections–4.5 inches and the 9 inches; and the 3 inch HST is also in Storm at Sea 9 inches.

I’m about to make 6 more blocks (two for a project, the rest will be extras). This time I’m making a colored heart on a light background only, not the reverse.

To print the 24 1.5 inch HSTs, I need a 7.75×10.25 piece of fabric. For the 12 3 inch HSTs, I need a 8.25×12.25 piece of fabric. I’m looking forward stitching these!

Edited to add construction pics. You probably won’t be able to see the Inklingo templates printed on these ‘cuz I printed them very lightly. When I print for pics, I usually do it a bit darker so you can see everything. Also, after stitching each seam I cut off the excess triangle of background fabric.

1. Layout to add first 1.5 inch HSTs:

2. Layout to add second 1.5 inch HSTs:

3. Layout to add 3 inch HSTs:

4. Finished!

Yes, I pressed to the light with this particular block. I’ll do that for half the blocks for easier construction.

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Inklingo, Triangles, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Inklingo-ing a Heart Block Pattern

  1. Looking forward to seeing your contruction pictures. Good idea.

  2. Pingback: All About Inklingo » Blog Archive » More Six-inch Inklingo Quilt Blocks

  3. Pingback: Shades of Orca Bay–Update | Dakota Essence

  4. Laura says:

    Very nice Jillian!

  5. Peggy S says:

    Super easy, Jillian. Thanks a bunch.

  6. Pingback: Valentine Quilt Design | Stof genoeg

Leave a Reply

