House Block–Plain or Embellished?

I’ve hit my first detour from my list of priorities! I’ve made an Inklingo (School) House block to go in a ‘Heart & Home’ comfort quilt. The blocks in the quilt are 6 inches finished. The Inklingo block finishes at 9 inches. I added sky and a field of daisies to enlarge the block. It’s over sized now at 13 inches so the person who’s sewing the top together has plenty of trimming room for what she needs (12 inches or so).

Here the block is plain:

Here it is with a couple of embellishments laying on it:

Which do you prefer? If I embellish it, I’m thinking the windows look a little plain. Should I embroider window panes? I’m concerned that with the plaid any window panes may look awkward? Any suggestions?

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Inklingo, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to House Block–Plain or Embellished?

  1. Debra in Ma. says:

    Ooh, tough choice! I’d have to go with the one with the dog! Being the animal lover that I am. But the’re both beautiful as they are. Debra in ma.

  2. Embellish! And don’t worry about the windows. When you quilt it, you can add something inside them, if you want.

  3. DakotaEssence says:

    Good idea about the windows Connie.

    And, Debra, embellish it is!

    Thanks for your input!

  4. I love this house, precious. thank you for your parcel. fabrics are great. I think I need help to understand how Inklingo works. shall I cut the fabric before sewing it? in the center of printed fabric there is a nice design and I don’t know if I can cut it. thank you for the great gift. hugs

Leave a Reply

