Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay Mystery!–Inklingo.ing Part 6

Bonnie has released the instructions for Part 6 of the Orca Bay Mystery. We are making Ohio Star blocks from the QSTs of Part 1, and 2 inch FINISHED squares (this step). Each block has a red (for me pinks-reds) center, half have white outside squares, the other half have black squares.

For newbies to Inklingo I’m going to again detail my decision-making steps to how I’m printing my Inklingo shapes. Stop here if you don’t want to know those nitty gritty details!

1. I consult the Inklingo Index of Shapes in the Support & Goodies tab at the Inklingo website to see which Collections include 2 inch squares. They are: Lite # 4 POTC – 90 HEX 1.0 inch; Tumbler; Storm At Sea 6.0 inch; Storm At Sea 12.0 inch; Log Cabin 1.0 inch; Drunkard’s Path 2.0 inch; plus the original Inklingo CD #1 (sold out). I’m going to use my Log Cabin 1.0 Collection.

2. I open that pdf. (Remember Inklingo is not software, it is a pdf document of information and templates.) When I open the pdf, in the left column I find the 2 inch squares information and click that link. (These bookmarks in a pdf are like an index in the back of a book, but better ‘cuz there is a clickable link to the page you want.)

This is the 2 inch square page (used with permission):

One of the Suggested Custom printing Sizes, 8×10.75 inches, yields 12 squares. I need 10 sheets of this size for 112 squares; 5 sheets for the 56 red squares (giving me a couple extra of each).

I’m running low on my black fabric so I’m anxious to know if I have enough fabric for this step. Did you notice the illustration in the lower half of the page that shows I should get 180 squares from a yard of fabric? Whew, I need less than a yard so I have enough black for this step.

I am so thrilled Linda has all this information for every shape. I love, love, LOVE that I don’t have to figure any of it out.

3. I am going to ‘Layer to Cut,’ a nifty Inklingo technique. In essence, I’ll be using the printed white fabric as a template for the black. I am going to print the squares on the white fabric, layer that printed fabric on top of the black, then cut out the shapes in both fabrics. Linda has a great blog post on this technique. This is what the white printed fabric on top of the unprinted black looks like (it’s gray…  tee hee):

Depending on the project, I could layer as many fabrics under the template fabric as I feel comfortable rotary cutting accurately. For example, in this case I could layer another piece of white and two more blacks under the template fabric. But, since Inklingo is so easy, I’ve decided to print all the white squares and layer each one with one black fabric.

Note, it takes about 3 minutes to do the above, but a whole lot longer to write about it!

I’m off to cut my white and red fabrics, stabilize them on freezer paper, then print.

’til later, Jillian

PS: Linda Franz is offering a free shape collection, Diamond/Triangle/Square, so you can try Inklingo too!

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Inklingo, Orca Bay, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay Mystery!–Inklingo.ing Part 6

  1. Nice write-up. Very well done, IMHO. lol.
    It is wonderful the way you explain everything so clearly, especially the layering/cutting options.
    Merry Christmas!

  2. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery!–Part 6 Update | Dakota Essence

Leave a Reply

