Orca Bay Mystery!–Part 5 Update

Bonnie Hunter‘s Orca Bay Mystery continues. I am so loving this mystery. I am doing well with the self-induced determination to keep up with the clues each week. I’m grateful Bonnie has split the parts up the way she has.

For Part 5 we’re adding ‘wings’ as Bonnie calls them (HSTs),  to both sides of the 350 black & white HSTs from Part 3.

I didn’t Inklingo these ‘cuz this black fabric has a very black reverse side and there isn’t an Inklingo color that prints well on it. (Many dark fabrics are easily printable, but not this one.) I could have printed some Inklingo HSTs on a lighter fabric to use as a template, but my ink cartridges are running very, very (VERY!) low and they’re not budgeted until next month. So, I decided to do these the ‘old fashioned way’… tee hee–cut a 2-3/8 inch square in half diagonally.

I sewed one ‘wing’ on each HST Sunday. Here they are after chain piecing them:

Now to press and trim these… then cut and add the next wing.

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Orca Bay, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Orca Bay Mystery!–Part 5 Update

  1. Connie says:

    They look great! I like the fabric you are using!
    Quilting by the River

  2. I did mine the same way – one wing at a time! This is fun isn’t it? Have you been using Inklingo? My printer didn’t like the it – but I just replaced the printer so I should try again.

    • DakotaEssence says:

      Jeanne, I’ve never had a printer problem. Was the paper path in your old printer one of those that twisted and turned the paper? (Thankfully most of those kind aren’t around on the market any more.) I’ve used two different model Canon all-in-one printers and one Lexmark and had one jam years ago ‘cuz I didn’t press the fabric properly on the freezer paper (iron wasn’t hot enough). If you have problems with the new one, consider talking about it on the Inklingo yahoo group so the problem can be solved. Or email me and we can continue discussing. Frankly, I love the accuracy of Inklingo so much that this Orca Bay Mystery is the first project I’ve done where some of the pieces are not Inklingoed since I discovered it!

  3. Looking good! Congrats on keeping up with the Mystery. This is fun, isn’t it?!
    Like you, I didn’t Inklingo my ‘wings’ either. I cut them from strips as Bonnie suggests and just flip the unit over and sew from the back-side where the Inklingo lines are from the HSTs — works like a charm!

  4. domyR974 says:

    in La Réunion/ France (island near Mauritius, down Africa..) I still do the patchwork of prehistory … I have not this great tool you have!! but even when it’s OK! LOL
    happy Christmas to you ! kisses

Leave a Reply

