Giant Hexagons

Well, that’s at least what they seemed like to me when I started stitching 3 inch hexagons, absolutely gigantic. (This was a very quick hand piecing project.) The last hexagons I stitched before this were the teeny tiny 0.25 inch for the still unfinished flower basket. This wall hanging is about 16.25 inches square with over 1,850 pieces in it. Here it is next to one 18×21 inch block of 3 inch hexagons, 28 pieces per block:

The flower fabric is Amy Butler’s Soul Blossoms that I won as part of the secondary prize package in last year’s Quiltmaker’s Treasure Hunt. (THAT was a welcome surprise and a fun bunch of goodies let me tell you!) I used Inklingo to print the templates on the fabric. The flowers are all fussy cut, two different blocks from five fabrics. Linda Franz has had some great blog entries on how to fussy cut with Inklingo–this one is my favorites.

I’m going to set the blocks three across, three down. Here are the first six on the ‘design wall,’ canvas covers on metal shelving units:

The final four (the last one is my practice block that will not be in the quilt):

To make it very easy on myself, I’m going to machine quilt this in sections. I’m unsure about sashing. I hadn’t planned on it in the original design, but a friend has suggested it needs 1 inch white sashing. I’m not convinced yet. And if I do sashing, should it have cornerstones? I was thinking if I did do sashing that maybe I should use the orange plaid that’s in the center of the flowers as the cornerstones. What do you think?

Due to a lack of experience, I’m not yet proficient at free motion quilting. I use a walking foot. Yesterday I quilted for the first time with my new-to-me Bernina 801S. She does a beautiful stitch and was a pleasure to play with. Now I’m excited to get to these. But this will be a future project as I’m still in the midst of Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay Mystery for another month at least.

Another reminder for the Quilting Gallery‘sThere are AWESOME give-aways with this blog hop, check them out at the above link. I’ll be drawing a name on Sunday, December 18 for my Inklingo-related give-away.  Comment on this blog post for a chance to win.

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in hexagons, Inklingo, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Giant Hexagons

  1. Oh My, the tiny tiny hexies are so cute but wow, the work.
    Love them all. : )

  2. your work is lovely. wow!!! thank you for stopping by. your name is in the draw of my giveaway. good luck

  3. I have English paper pieced some 5″ hexagons — gigantic!

  4. Pingback: Prioritizing My Works in Progress | Dakota Essence

Leave a Reply

