Orca Bay Mystery!–Part 4 Update

Bonnie Hunter‘s Orca Bay Mystery continues.

Part 4 is 64 string blocks, cut diagonally into 128 triangles. In Bonnie’s inspiration photo, the reds represent the sunset. My fabrics are more pinks, oranges, and some purples. Here are the first 80 triangles:

String blocks are amazing things. They can look pretty bleak in progress; yet somehow, quite magically after they’re trimmed they’re just right! It can be very surprising to me. I must admit to a bit color editing of the strings as I go along, not much but I can’t just grab any string and sew it on the foundation every single time. I know if I do it’ll look fine, but the artist in me gets bored without some brain (choice) involved once in awhile.

Remember the Quilting Gallery‘s continues until December 17. There are hundreds of bloggers participating, check them out. Comment on this blog post for a chance at my give-away.

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Orca Bay, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Orca Bay Mystery!–Part 4 Update

  1. Your fabrics are just so cheerful and bright! Lovin’ it!

  2. Gorgeous, rich strings. Love them!

  3. Elaine Adair says:

    Wow – those colors are so gorgeous! Remember when we were new quilters and thought that red, pink, yellow and orange did not “go”? the blocks are stunning!

  4. heather says:

    I love your colors!

  5. Laura says:

    Color editing. Great description. I do that with my string blocks too and yes, I am always amazed at how great they look once they are all trimmed up. I am working on a really fun string quilt right now. Love ’em!

  6. Beatrice says:

    Wonderful sunset !

Leave a Reply

