My New Sewing Machine Table

I’m in love with my new 24×48 inch self-built ‘Cheap Sewing & Quilting Table’ designed by Marguerita McManus. I made it specifically for my new-to-me vintage Bernina 801S.  This is how it looks when I need the full table for a project:

And this is how I use it when I’m piecing, with my pressing ‘board’ right there:

I made my pressing board with two pieces of foam core wrapped in aluminum foil. I wrapped that in a sandwich of canvas, fused to a cotton quilt bat, fused to a cotton backing. I didn’t even bother to finish the edges, it’s survived washing a few times already. This is as firm as using a piece of wood, and much lighter for me to stash when not in use.

Marguerita has a four part youtube video explaining how to make this table out of rigid foam insulation and vinyl yardage. Here’s part 1:

Marguerita also has an inexpensive downloadable book, Sew & Quilt in Comfort, that details how to make the table. It has other ergonomic tips too.

I’ve been struggling some with my 3/4-inch HSTs for my Tiny Table Topper. The feed dogs of my sewing machine just don’t want to grab these little pieces evenly. I’ve used a stiletto, and a good long tweezers, and tried the walking foot but they’ve not turned out as accurately as they should with Inklingo templates! I do have one of the toppers sewn, with more cut off tips than I prefer. I’m going to try hand piecing some of these tiny HSTs tonight that are ready for the second topper to see if I prefer doing it that way. (I LOVE to hand piece.)

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Sewing Machine Table

  1. Marguerita says:

    Wow – it’s always so surprising to see someone else’s table because it makes me feel like I am looking into one of my own rooms – at my own table! I hope that it makes you as comfortable and happy with your quilting as mine has made me. Thank you SO much for sharing your pics and for your kind words. {Big happy grin on my face} Marguerita

  2. Cathy T. says:

    I too am a Marguerita fan. She is such a very nice lady & has clever ideas for the quilting table & many others. She has helped me figure out my best chair/table height setup for less shoulder & back pain. I loved her book!

    I also like your lightweight ironing surface for piecing. I made a small table-side one from an old wood cutting board; it’s small so not heavy, but I can see yours would be great if you have to move it very much.
    Thanks for sharing the ideas.

Leave a Reply

