Orca Bay Mystery!–Part 2 Finished and a GiveAway

Hi Everyone,

They’re done–the final bunch:

I was getting really bored toward the end so I did a couple themed blocks for my enjoyment. Here’s a Winnie the Pooh block:

Symbolism from left to right is sky for the times Winnie has floated away with balloons; flowers for the bees to visit; bees for honey; fluff that Pooh sometimes gets in his ears when he hears something he doesn’t want to do anything about; and, of course Pooh.

This is dedicated to my bestest friend Sabrina:

Symbolism from left to right again: dots for old computer punch cards (we both started with computers in the 1970s); bees ‘cuz they can fly even tho it looks impossible–representing overcoming hardships; Pooh & Piglet, also bestest friends; tea pot representing the High Teas we’ve enjoyed; and a rainbow to represent the strong faith we share.

This represents North Dakota, where I live:

Any guesses as to the symbolism of this one (those are forks and spoons in the 4th strip)? Leave a comment below with your guesses. From the comments I will randomly pick a winner of a brand new, unopened Inklingo Shape (Template) #1 CD Collection. This is a HUGE collection of the following shapes/templates with 1 inch sides: hexagons (whole, halves & quarters), 60-degree diamonds, 60-degree triangles (whole & half), square, pentagon. Shapes with 2 inch sides: hexagons (whole, halves & quarters), square, elongated hexagons (whole, halves & quarters). Plus some 1 inch and 2 inch shapes with applique designs, PLUS star points!

This 2006 Collection is sold out. Inklingo is now downloadable PDFs that can be updated instead of hard copy CDs. Understand that the CD is ‘old’ technology and will eventually be outdated as there are always updates to software, such as Adobe, Operating Systems and printer drivers that can render it unusable.

The winner will be announced Friday evening after 5pm CST.

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Orca Bay, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Orca Bay Mystery!–Part 2 Finished and a GiveAway

  1. Carol Whitaker says:

    Well, I’d say the first three indicate the weather/seasons, going from nice, to rain, then to snow. When the weather is cold and snowy (winter) we tend to stay inside and eat! Then after winter comes the spring.

  2. Carol Whitaker says:

    Oh shoot, I made a typo on my email address!

  3. Lynn T says:

    I would say the first is for a sunny day, the second is for rain (i just bought some of that fabric for a quilt!) The third is for all the snow you get, the fourth is for great food and the fourth is for the flowers you put on your table while eating the great food!

  4. Your blocks are interesting! Coming up with 72 different symbols might be a challenge! It is nice you are remembering your friend in your work.

  5. Bev in TX says:

    I think they represent the 4 seasons. Summer, Winter, Fall (harvest time), Spring. Winter has two sections because N. Dakota has a long one, with lots of frost, sleet and snow. I’m originally from neighboring Minnesota 🙂

  6. Lorraine says:

    Oooh…good thing you didn’t say we had to get the symbolism right to be considered for the drawing! So…blue skies, loudy days, snowy days, good food and flowers grown inthe summer. Beautiful blocks, BTW…much calmer than the lime green ones I’m working on!!

  7. Nancy says:

    Oh,…my first thought was wide open blue skies, then the dots for hills (mountains?), then the snow and then eating for hibernation into spring flowers….. kind of a “year in a block”…

    Love all the blocks and would love a chance to win the wonderful collection…

  8. It looks like the seasons to me. Are the forks representing the “eating” holidays?

  9. Debbie M says:

    Looks like a picnic to me! The sky, tablecloth, paper goods and nature.

  10. The wide open sky, the “dots” for the oxygen that we need and breath, flowers for nature and food….

    North Dakota… where you live, breath and eat.

    PLEASE pick me!!! I LOVE Inklingo!!!! *VBG*

    Rosa Robichaud
    Saint John, New Brunswick
    Canada
    robich@rogers.com

  11. Nolene Lattin says:

    Christmas dinner–Blue skies, snow on the ground, snow falling, silverware and flowers on the table.

  12. Jean says:

    All of my guesses have been used, seasons & picnicking with the flowers.
    But I’d still love to win the CD,

  13. Teresa Hatten says:

    You live in Grand Forks?

  14. Donnely Barber says:

    Seasons of the year, lovely colors…..thank you for a chance to win this delightful give-away!

  15. Renea says:

    Blue skys of summer heat
    Honey comb harvested in the fall
    Snowflakes to remind us to prepare for winter ahead.
    Forks and spoons, to celebrate all good fortunes
    sew seeds in the spring to surround ourselves with the beauty of nature.

    I am the perfect person to win this. I am having so much trouble figuring out where to start on my Inklingo stuff. Help!!!

  16. Connie Boulay says:

    Knives and forks because you love to eat? That would be it for me, anyway. Connie Boulay
    Campbell, CA

  17. LizA. says:

    I’m going to have to go with the seasons and maybe something to do with food or harvesting….my memory of having driven through north Dakota 20+ years ago was endless miles of wheat and corn.

  18. Alda says:

    I would have to go with the four seasons and the celebration with food in everyone of them. Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter and fourth of July. Your blocks are so beautiful and having something to remember in all of them is so cool.
    Alda, Fl

  19. Diana says:

    The seasons that Pooh enjoys, from sunny days, to rain and hibernating in the winter, to eating when he awakens , and to smell the flowers of summer. I too would love the chance to win.
    Thank you for the chance.
    Diana, Canada

  20. Sara says:

    1.Big Blue sky of the ND summers.
    2.Foggy, rainy days of ND Autumn.
    3.Heavy snows of ND Winters.
    4. Wonderful comfort foods of ND.
    5. Prairie Flowers of ND Spring.

  21. Colleen says:

    Hi pick me pick me. Really I’d be so grateful to have the inklingo CD.
    Your blue sting blocks are lovely esp. your special Pooh blocks
    Colleen

  22. Lynda says:

    The beauty all around where your live and the fun and happiness of having a dinner party with a properly set table and being thankful for all of your many blessings.

    Lynda Ljquilts@numail.org

  23. Colleen says:

    Oh I am so excited I didn’t follow the rules so sorry. So my guess the silverware strip is a symbol of bounty and breaking of bread with family. So both having food and sharing it with others.
    Kind of what you are doing with inklingo you have it and you are sharing it with another
    Colleen

  24. The flower on the right could represent the state flower of North Dakota: the wild prairie rose
    The silverware could represent the city of Grand Forks. It is at the fork of the Red River and Red Lake River.
    The snowflakes could represent big snowstorms
    The next section could represent sleet
    The final section – beautiful wide open blue skies w/ a few fluffy clouds.

  25. Emily says:

    Blue skies, sleet, snow, picnic silverware, and a reminder to stop and smell the flowers when the weather is good.

  26. Colleen says:

    It’s already been said but I also thought of a picnic on a sunny blue sky day. I love that you can make a story from a small string quilt block.

  27. Lynda Lois says:

    Hi Jillian,
    I would love to win your #1cd. I have cd#2 and cd#3. I have several of Linda’s inklingo projects started. I love hexagons! In viewing your North Dakota block I see the winter sky with snow and then Christmas and Christmas dinner and then the promise of spring to come……….. Your colors are beautiful for your Orca mystery quilt…………… Lynda Lois

  28. Sue Bennett says:

    My guess is that you are having a great time with your blocks. I love it so far. I would love to win this cd as I have just got started with Linda’s inklingo and also a new printer to use with them.. Thanks for the chance..

  29. Becky says:

    Your quilt looks wonderful. I love how those quarter square triangles stitched out. I have never heard of inklingo so I’m gonna have to do some research on this. I really haven’t had my head in the sand I just have been so busy the last couple of years that I haven’t kept up with new things on the market. Keep up the good work!

  30. Bonnie Huelin, Brampton, Ont says:

    I absolutely love the Pooh references- Will be waiting to see it all put together-beautiful!!

  31. Barb says:

    All my guesses have definitely been used. But I’d sure love to win an Inklingo CD!!!

  32. Wanda says:

    Well I am stumped. I live in Texas so our weather is totally different. But I did see sky symbolism. I just joined the inklingo yahoo group but have not used inklingo as of yet. Quite a wonderful concept. Wish I had thought of it first. HAHA. anyway I love you stripy blocks your OB is going to be beautiful.

  33. cluedeman says:

    1. Blue Skies – any season
    2. Raindrops of Spring
    3. Snowflakes of Winter
    4. Spoons and Forks – Peace Garden State – Garden – Fall Harvest
    5. Flowers of Summer

  34. Pam Appledorn says:

    My ideas have already been commented on. I think the sections represent the seasons. I would love to win the CD collection.

  35. Barbara says:

    Hi: I would say #1 (left) is beautiful blue skies. #2 is transition to winter and #3 is snow. #4 is friends gathering to eat and #5 is welcoming Spring.. What a great incentive for piecing. Thanks.

  36. My guesses are:
    1. The wide open skies of North Dakota
    2. The deluge of rain that can happen on short notice
    3. The snow that falls!
    4. The plates that are filled with all the good food ND produces
    5. The flowers and beautiful summers

    I haven’t started my Orca Bay quilt yet, but soon…soon…

  37. Judy Morin says:

    I’m not good and interpreting symbolism, but I’d really like to get Collection 1. I have both Collections 2 and 3 and use them a lot, but would like to enlarge my Hexagon sizes. Love the idea of making symbolic blocks to add to your Orca Bay. Most of my blues are at my other home, so am waiting until I get there to complete the string piecing.

  38. Love your idea to put symbolic fabrics into block ‘stories’!! Great job on being ready for step 3 tomorrow 🙂

  39. Carol J says:

    Wow. It seems like we are all on the same wavelength here…
    I have had the opportunity to drive through North Dakota once, and it was wonderful – lots of farm land…. and there are two things that farming instills in a person… hard work, and good food! So, I am going to say that your ND block symbolizes the changing seasons in farm country and the rewards of a hard days’ work in a good meal! Good luck to everyone in the draw! Getting lots of snow here – good time to sit and stitch 🙂

  40. Candace says:

    Love your blocks and fabrics, especially Pooh bear.

  41. Tiffany says:

    I love your blocks! I’m going to say that it represents the seasons with thanksgiving thrown in. 🙂

  42. Carol Visser says:

    First is the blue skies that dominate both North and South Dakota.
    Next – this appears to be the wild prairie rose which is the state flower
    Next – the SNOW!! Goodness it is bone chilling cold in both states during the winter.
    Last – this also appears to be the wild prairie rose but I’m sure you wouldn’t have included it twice. That one has me stumped

  43. Sara says:

    I love the themes of your last blocks, Makes quilts very special and meaningful.

Leave a Reply

