.25 inch Hexagons: Flower Basket Medallion Completed

Whohoo, now I feel like I’m getting somewhere! The center flower basket medallion is now pieced:

My goal has been to finish the piecing by the end of the month. I think that’s going to be possible.

I’ve been considering some embellishing–embroidery, maybe a few beads and/or hot fix crystals. I think I’m going to have to wait until the top is pieced to see how it ‘feels’ before I make a decision.

’til later,

Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in hexagons, Inklingo, Quarter Inch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to .25 inch Hexagons: Flower Basket Medallion Completed

  1. LuAnn Krug says:

    Your hexagon basket is just wonderful!! I have the inklingo Patchwork of the Crosses but someday I want to get some of the hexagons. How big will the basket be when it is finished? Great job.

    • dakotaessence says:

      Thanks LuAnn. I’d be interested in seeing how you feel about Inklingo compared to English Paper Piecing hexagons. My mini will be 16″ square.

  2. Joan says:

    That looks just fantastic Jillian…its going to look beautiful when its all together…look after yourself

  3. linda says:

    Jillian, your hexagons look wonderful! Congrats! I just started Inklingo-ing and I’m using the HST for one of the squares in the Civil War Tribute quilt. I know you’re in ND in the north part, but my geography is bad in relation to the rivers. I have a really good friend in Walcott (20-30 miles south of Fargo). I even went to visit in October. Except for the cold and all that snow, it looks amazingly like the flat part of central Ohio. Been terribly concerned because of the Red River flooding. Hope it hasn’t been an issue for you.

    • dakotaessence says:

      Hi Linda, enjoy your HSTs the Inklingo way. We’re in the southwestern part of the state, west of Bismarck. We have rolling hills. Our town, in a valley, hasn’t had any flooding. Last year we were an inch away from flooding due to a huge ice jam on usually small river that runs through town. Thankfully the jam broke just in time. The ice is not as thick this year so although there’s still possibility of an ice jam, so far we’re okay.

  4. Elly says:

    It’s looking fabulous Jillian!! You have such patience!!

    Elly

  5. Frummie Sommers says:

    Jillian, This piece is beautiful! I forget to look at my Yahoo mail. I am glad I checked in today.
    Beautiful job.

  6. Diana says:

    This basket of flowers are beautiful! I have never heard of indigo befor and will be interested in learning more.

Leave a Reply

