Printing Shape Templates on Fabric with Inklingo

I’ve stitched together all the .25 hexagons that I had ready, so I’ve printed bunches more tonight (current project referred to here):

If I’ve figured my pattern correctly, these should be more than enough for the project.

When I first read about the concept of Inklingo I was thrilled and awed by its brillance. But using Inklingo took me awhile. It turned out I was thrown by doing all this unfamiliar new stuff. Pressing pieces of fabric onto freezer paper and running them through my precious copier made me break out in a cold sweat. What if I did it ‘wrong’? What if it broke my only printer? What if I wrecked my precious fabric?, etc., etc., etc.

Those ‘what ifs’ stopped me cold. What finally got me going was that I had signed up for a  ‘shape swap’ at the Inklingo yahoo group that Cathi was hosting. If I hadn’t been pushed by that swap deadline I think I may still be stymied in the what if’s mud. I laugh to myself about my trepidation every time I prepare a new batch of fabrics to print ‘cuz none of my ‘what if’ fears have ever materialized.

I now own two all-in-one printers that feed from the back, my ole faithful Canon PIXMA 550 and a Lexmark X4530. After using both for Inklingo projects, I have dedicated the Canon as my printer of choice. The primary reason is that if I am printing a fabric nickel (5 x 5 inches) I can still press it onto a 8.5 x 12 inch piece of freezer paper. With the Lexmark, if I choose a print size of 5 x 5 inches, the paper must be 5 x 5 inches. The Canon has made me lazy. I have cut a bunch of 8.5 x 12 inch freezer paper sheets that I use if the fabric piece is 3 x 4 inches or 8.5 x 12 inches. With the smaller pieces of fabric I can press one on each end of the freezer paper sheet and just turn it to print:

For the official how-to on printing with Inklingo, download the FREE first chapter of the Inklingo Handbook.

’til later,

Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in hexagons, Inklingo, Quarter Inch, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Printing Shape Templates on Fabric with Inklingo

  1. Joan says:

    Good explanations Jillian. How many hexagons do you intend to do? I like your colours.

  2. Diane H says:

    What a great idea to let others know about the ease of using Inklingo! I hope this encourages many to see the benefits of using Inklingo! I love your little flowers!

  3. dakotaessence says:

    Joan, if I counted correctly, my wall hanging will need 1,400 .25 hexagons!

  4. Subee Mohr says:

    I can see the fabric but not the printed lines.
    I also have a Lexmark that feeds from the back.
    I have all the INKLINGO programs and all my worries about preparation!
    XOXOOx Subee

    • DakotaEssence says:

      Subee, Before I printed my first Inklingo shapes I imagined all sorts of worries! I really made it much more difficult than it is. After I printed on a few fabrics it became second nature. It especially helped in the beginning to always do a printer ink test on the different fabrics. I got a feel for my printer’s ink and how it printed on the fabric–and I saved the tests for reference. Now I usually just look at a similar fabric that I have a test for and pick the ink color from that. I rarely do ink tests (except always with new ink cartridge) as I have enough experience to have an idea of what ink works with what. As you’ve seen, it’s very frustrating to print too lightly!
      ~Jillian

Leave a Reply

