Owl in the Tree, Small and Large Blocks

I love owls  Snowy owls are my favorite. Did any of you read the book Wesley the Owl: The Remarkable Love Story of an Owl and His Girl? It’s an odd title until you realize it’s about a woman scientist who adopted a hatchling barn owl that she raised for 19 years. It’s a good read, I couldn’t put the book down. Of course it’s hard to hold a book and stitch! I usually listen to an audio book or magazine while I stitch.

I designed an approximate 6 inch tree block and used it for the 2009 Inklingo Tilde’s Tiny Tote exchange. Of course I had to put the owl in the tree when I realized one of my fabrics would work!:

All the shapes are .75 inch from the Inklingo #3 cd: hexagon trunk,  triangles and diamonds for the tree canopy,  other half elongated hexagons for sky and grass, and other half hexagons for the tree base/root area.

I later decided to make a second block with bigger shapes, using the same fabrics:

Compare the two owls to see the difference in scale. The second block is approximately 10.5  inches. The hexagon,  triangles and diamonds are all 1.5 inches from the Inklingo #3 cd. I used triangles this time in the sky grass and root area. I think the fabrics look in better proportion in this larger size, but the whimsy shines more in the smaller block.

I haven’t decided what to do with my second block yet–it’s still up on my inspiration wall!

I chose to hand piece both blocks, but the bulk of the seams could easily be pieced by machine. If you change all the shapes to triangles, the whole block could be machine pieced.

There’s a free pdf pattern for the Tilde’s Tiny Totes here at the Inklingo site.  Actually, there are many Inklingo freebies at that link, including a whole Le Moyne Star shape collection and chapter one of the Inklingo Handbook.

’til later,

Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Diamonds, hexagons, Inklingo, Triangles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Owl in the Tree, Small and Large Blocks

  1. Joan says:

    Lovely blocks Jillian. Colours are great …and the owl too 🙂 Would love to see what they end up as.

Leave a Reply

