New Project: Quarter Inch (.25) Hexagon Wall Hanging

Welcome to my first blog post!

I’ve started a new hand piecing project; which interrupts a few other projects ‘cuz it has a deadline. This wall hanging that will have about 1400 quarter inch hexagons. Here are some of my first blooms:

That’s a U.S. dime on the right for scale. Cute little guys aren’t they? These are the smallest shapes I’ve ever pieced. I was all thumbs at first trying to negotiate the many small seams.

The one inch hexagons I’m used to piecing  seem like giants now:

Yup, that’s the quarter inch hexagon in the center! Even though the quarter inch hexagon isn’t trimmed and pressed yet, I think it’s a fun comparison.

If it wouldn’t be for Inklingo enabling me to use a running stitch on marked seam lines  (check it out here), I never EVER would have attempted hexagons.

You’ll find I’m a big Inklingo enthusiast. My lifelong pet peeve about sewing has always been that I wanted stitching lines. I became a glue or stitch basting queen in order to get the results I wanted. Inklingo has, thankfully, solved these issues for me–well at least for piecing. And, I can even hand piece when I’m brain dead because I don’t have to concentrate, just sew on the lines…

’til later,

Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in hexagons, Quarter Inch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Project: Quarter Inch (.25) Hexagon Wall Hanging

  1. Elly says:

    Hi Jillian 🙂 Congratulations on your first blog 😉 Love those little hexagons! They look like loads of little butterflies ready to take flight 🙂

  2. Joan says:

    Jillian you blog is great . Very impressed with all those tiny hexagons. Doesnt Inlkingo change our lives…looking forward to your further posts

  3. SueR says:

    Good heavens, you’re patient to do 1400 tiny hexagons! They’re really cute! I like my big ones!

  4. Pat D says:

    Jillian love the pictures and I agree Inklingo certainly improves and speeds the process!

  5. Peggy Simmons says:

    I love all those little colorful flowers. It reminds me of your picture of the sunflowers in North Dakota. Inklingo rocks, especially the hexes.

  6. Betty grant says:

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!! The first picture lookes like a bouquet.

  7. Cathie in UT says:

    Love those bright and cheery hex flowers.
    I can’t wait to see your project all completed.
    I am still mostly a machine sewer personally but I love Inklingo as a take along project!

  8. frummie says:

    I love your new blog. The hexies are adorable.
    There really isn’t anything better than INKLINGO
    Hugs,
    Frummie

  9. Pingback: Printing Shape Templates on Fabric with Inklingo « Dakota Essence

  10. Anita says:

    Hai Jilian, please mail me back, i want the hexagon template to print so bad but i just can’t download the layout,help??????

Leave a Reply

