Another block that can be made with the Celtic Solstice or Storm at Sea Inklingo Collections

I’ve been enamored with this triangle unit since making them for Clue 1 of Bonnie Hunter’s Celtic Solstice 2014 Mystery Quilt:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA(My camera distorts flat images, sigh)

Of course it’s not a new unit in our quilty world, it’s just now struck my design fancy. It’s like getting a different automobile and then suddenly seeing it all over the place.

What did I get when I put together the above 2 inch finished triangle units and the 2×4 inch Flying Geese I blogged about here?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI got these:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA(Reflections by Jillian Holston 2014)

I couldn’t find this in my block encyclopedia, so I’m considering it an original. I named it Reflections because it reminds me of a sailboat with its reflection in the water. (It’s mid-winter here right now in North Dakota so I’m dreaming of warmer weather.) If you recognize this block, please let me know its name and/or source.

I used the 6 inch Inklingo Storm at Sea collection; it has all the ‘coordinating’ shapes, as do all of the other Storm at Sea Inklingo collections (SAS) or Bonnie Hunter’s Celtic Solstice collection (CS).

Here are the finished block sizes for the above collections:

- SAS 4.5 inches = 3×4.5 inch block (uses 1.5×3 inch Flying Geese)

- SAS 6 inches = 4×6 inch block (uses 2×4 inch Flying Geese)

- SAS 6.75″ = 4.5×6.75 inch block (uses 2.25×4.5 inch Flying Geese)

- SAS 9 inches or CS = 6×9 inch block (uses 3×6 inch Flying Geese)

- SAS 12 inches = 8×12 inch block (uses 4×8 inch Flying Geese)

I noted the size of the Flying Geese block for my reference. The larger two collections would be really good for larger print fabrics.

Obsessing over these blocks should now be out of my brain. Do design ideas ever get stuck in your brain like they do in mine? I do need to make a few more for a small wall hanging though.

’til later, Jillian

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Celtic Solstice, Flying Geese, Half Diamond/Triangle, Inklingo, Mug Rug Swap, Reflections block, Storm at Sea, Triangles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another block that can be made with the Celtic Solstice or Storm at Sea Inklingo Collections

  1. Pingback: Three Reflections Mini Wall Hangings | Dakota Essence

Leave a Reply

