Bonnie Hunter’s Celtic Solstice Mystery and Inklingo–The Reveal

celticlogo250_thumb[1]Bonnie’s Celtic Solstice Reveal on January 1 was a surprising thrill for me. Thank you so much Bonnie for a wonderful mystery and beautiful design. I hope it was half the fun for you as it is for me. I’ve gained a lot of experience and much more confidence machine piecing. I’ve loved being pushed each week to get each clue finished due to my personal goal to keep up. I’ve loved the excitement of being part of a ‘virtual’ worldwide quilt guild doing this together. And, I’ve especially loved seeing everyone’s progress on the link-ups, like this week’s link-up, click below:00 Paddy125Whether or not you used Inklingo’s printed shapes for your Celtic Solstice Mystery, please consider downloading Linda Franz’s Inklingo Clue 6 Reveal pdf. Linda designed and included in the download NINE different inspirational quilt settings using our the Celtic Solstice blocks.

After I pieced my Clue 4 four patches I didn’t like my chosen fabrics next to the already completed units. (I’m not doing scrappy, don’t have the stash for it.) After Bonnie’s reveal, I liked those four patches even less:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy camera’s flash washes out the colors. In real life, the fabrics are richer/darker and more saturated. This setting is okay, but uninspiring to me. Uninspiring in my world equals an unfinished project languishing in the wings! What’s a quilter to do? My choice was to eat chocolate, stare at it and contemplate alternatives.

I decided to replace the four patches. I couldn’t find a really good substitute in my stash. Other than adding a neutral or two to my stash, I’m determined not to add more fabric to my stash until I’ve used most of what I have.

My creative friend Bree wisely suggested that before I made more four patches, I should consider one of Linda’s alternate layouts. This is a bit of one that I especially liked (page 12 of Linda’s Clue 6):OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYup, this works much better for me. I had some hesitation with the border, didn’t know why, but did. Time for more chocolate and another of Linda’s border designs:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANope, I liked this even less… Bree suggested another variation of Linda’s borders (pictured on Linda’s blog post and page 13 of her Clue 6). I hesitated because I ‘knew’ it just wasn’t going to work:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI was totally wrong. NOW it feels right to me. I’ll have 1.5 inch borders on either side of the border piecing, one my neutral and the other a turquoise print, with a green print piped binding.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m back to being really excited to get this version my Celtic Solstice finished and on the bed! I do see another Celtic Solstice in my future though in Bonnie’s setting because I really like the movement in it.

’til later, Jillian

Did you see my tutorial on my new favorite star block, the Star of the Milky Way?
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About DakotaEssence

Piecing and quilting in the northern Plains.
This entry was posted in Celtic Solstice, Inklingo, Parallelograms, Squares, Stars. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bonnie Hunter’s Celtic Solstice Mystery and Inklingo–The Reveal

  1. Melissa says:

    Love your change of pieces border. Think I may do the same. Did you have to make more units?

    • DakotaEssence says:

      Hi Melissa, Thanks for your vote of confidence on the border change. Nope, no more border pieces are needed, per Linda’s design.

  2. Nina says:

    I love how y our quilt is coming. I was hesitant about the border also. My thought was to just go with a regular border rather than using the blue/orange units (and my second thought was, “What will I do with 90 something of those blue/orange squares?!?) but now I think I may try one of the alternative layouts that you mentioned. Thanks for sharing your creativity!

    • DakotaEssence says:

      Thanks Nina. In spite of my consternation about the borders, it was a load of fun trying the different settings. Hope you find one that suits your quilt.

  3. Tracy says:

    Love your design!

  4. I like the changes you are making with the design – especially the border.

  5. Debra Crumbaker says:

    Your ideas are wonderful; you know what you like and aren’t afraid to change it. Lovely quilt!

  6. Mary C in WA says:

    I saw the changes Linda showed on her Inklingo blog. What fun to see all the ways to use these block parts. I’m not a fan of Cookie Cutter Quilts. After making the Easy Street last year and see my quilt all over Blogland, it seemed since there were so many in the same colorway! I went with some yardage and not the scrappy Backgrounds. I like that you used only STASH! Good Job keeping up.

  7. Leslie says:

    I really like your layout too, I think I may try it for the main body of the quilt but nix the 62 degree triangle blocks for the border! I hate those things!
    Take care, Leslie

  8. Vireya says:

    Beautiful border idea!

  9. Andee in AZ says:

    I had not seen the alternate layouts…will be going back and looking through all the inklingo stuff..thanks! Your quilt will be fabulous whatever layout you choose!

  10. Loving your variation, it really stood out on the Quiltville Reveal link-up page. It’s going to be a stunner :)

  11. Pingback: Bonnie Hunter’s Celtic Solstice Mystery and Inklingo–Update | Dakota Essence

Leave a Reply

